Refining Your Alert Notifications with People Only Mode

Neighbors who subscribe to a Ring Protect Plus or Basic plan will have the power to refine their notifications to only those triggered by a person. People Only Mode is a more refined Motion Alert notification setting available in your Ring App. This article will give you all the information you need to understand People Only Mode.

What is "People Only Mode?"

People Only Mode is a special setting in your notifications that will set your Ring app to only alert you to motions detected by your Ring device that have been caused by people. While all valid motion events will still be recorded by your Ring device, People Only Mode can reduce the number of notifications you receive to only those caused by human beings.

Note: There are some functionality differences in People Only Mode depending on your device:

  • Battery powered devices: If you turn on People Only Mode your device will record all events,  but usually only send you a notification when a human being is detected 
  • Hardwired devices: If you toggle the People Only Mode on, your device will only record and alert you to human being related events.

Note: Occasionally when in People Only Mode, light reflection, as from an outside window, can activate motion detection. If you're getting a lot of unwanted notifications look for reflective surfaces that may be shining light onto your device. Alternatively, you can turn off the People Only Mode setting. 

Does everyone have access to People Only Mode?

No. People Only Mode is only accessible to those neighbors who have signed up for a Ring Protect Plus or Ring Protect Basic Plan or those who setup one of the following Ring wired devices prior to September 30, 2019:

  • Ring Video Doorbell Pro
  • Ring Video Doorbell Elite
  • Stick Up Cam Wired
  • Floodlight Cam
  • Spotlight Cam Wired
  • Spotlight Cam Mount 

People Only Mode is also available during the 30-day trial period that begins when a device is first activated. After that period, a Ring Protect Plan is required to use the feature.

What is a Ring Protect Plan?

Ring Protect Plan is an optional plan that covers monitoring and video recording services for Ring devices. With Ring Protect Plus you'll receive 24/7 monitoring for your Ring Alarm system and be able to save Ring videos for a reasonable price. This lets you check out alerts at your convenience even if you miss one and makes sure that your home is always protected.

Click here for more information on the Ring Protect Plan.

How do I turn on People Only Mode?

Turning on People only mode is slightly different if you are turning the mode on a battery-powered or an externally powered device. 

For battery-powered devices:

  • Open the Ring app on your mobile device.
  • Tap on the device you wish to adjust.
  • Tap Device Settings.
  • Tap Alert Settings.
  • Tap Smart Alerts.
  • Tap People Only Mode.
  • Tap the People Only Mode toggle switch to turn the mode on

For externally-powered devices:

  • Open the Ring app on your mobile device.
  • Tap on the device you wish to adjust.
  • Tap Device Settings.
  • Tap Motion Settings.
  • Tap People Only Mode.
  • Tap the People Only Mode toggle switch to turn the mode on



Join Our Community

Share feature requests, get help, and discuss the latest in security with your fellow users on Ring's first neighbor-to-neighbor community forum.