Upgrading, Changing, or Canceling your Ring Protect Plan

Ring Protect Plan is an optional plan that covers monitoring and video recording services for Ring devices.

The following article details some of the frequently asked questions concerning upgrading, canceling or changing your Ring Protect Plan.

If I upgrade from Basic to Plus, how will I be charged?

You will receive a prorated refund for any amount left on your Basic annual plan. The Plus plan will be charged immediately and you will begin a new billing cycle.

If I add a new product to my Ring Protect Basic account, how will I be charged?

When you add a new device to your Ring Protect Basic account, you will be charged a prorated rate for the remaining difference in months between your new product's inception date and the old product's billing date (after the 30-day trial ends). This will get both products on the same billing cycle. Once the billing date comes around again, both products will be charged for a year.

As an example: Device A is subscribed on January 1, 2019 for $30, that means the next billing date is January 1, 2020. Device B is subscribed on July 1, 2019 for a Basic yearly plan. On July 1, 2019, you will pay $15 for Device B for the period from July 1, 2019 to January 1, 2020. On January 1, 2020, you will be charged $60 for both devices and they both renew on the same cycle going forward

If I add a new product to my Ring Protect Plus account, how will I be charged?

If your device is being added at the same location, it is included! Ring Protect Plus covers all devices at a single location. If it is at a separate location, you will have to pay for the service again at the new location.

How do I cancel my Ring Protect Plan and get refunded?

  • Click here to cancel your Ring Protect Plan.
  • At the bottom of the page, click Cancel Subscription.
  • You will be refunded a prorated amount, based on how much time you have left in your Ring Protect Plan.

Annual Plans: If you cancel your annual Ring Protect Plan at any time during your subscription period, your annual plan will be prorated over 12 months. Accordingly, you will be responsible for the monthly subscription fee (i.e., fee for the monthly subscription plan) for each month of your annual subscription period prior to your cancellation. If you cancel after a new month of your annual plan has already started, you will be charged for the entire month's subscription fee. You will be eligible for a refund or credit of the remainder of your annual subscription fee (minus any credits applied or partial refunds issued).

Monthly Plan: You can cancel your monthly Ring Protect Plan at any time during your subscription period. However, monthly plans are not eligible for prorated refunds.

I just replaced my Ring device, but my subscription and/or videos did not transfer over. What can I do?

This process should be automatic as long as the old device was not deleted off the account before the new device was set up and the transfer took place. If the old Ring device has been deleted already, but the videos and/or the subscription did not transfer over, please click here to Contact Us.

How do I downgrade from Plus to Basic?
If you want to downgrade your Plus plan to a Basic plan, you must cancel the Plus and subscribe to the Basic plan within 15 minutes in order to retain your recordings.

You will be given a prorated refund for any amount left over from your Plus annual plan. There will be no refunds issued for monthly plans.  The new Basic plan will be charged immediately and you will start a new billing cycle.

If I am a Shared User on a location, can I upgrade or change a Ring Protection Plan subscription?

No. Only the person designated as owner of a location can alter a Ring Protection Plan.

Click here to learn more about ownership and being a shared user. 

Join Our Community

Share feature requests, get help, and discuss the latest in security with your fellow users on Ring's first neighbor-to-neighbor community forum.