How to Add Another Person to Your Ring Account

 

If you want to add another person to your account, you can add a Shared User. Shared Users must have their own Ring account (by downloading the Ring App), and use their own email and password to log in. If there are multiple Ring devices, the Account Owner needs to invite a Shared User individually to each device. An account owner is determined by the mobile device used to initially set up the Ring doorbell or security camera.

How to Add a Shared User

Only an Account Owner can add a Shared User. The sole Account Owner is determined by the mobile device on which the device was initially set up. 

In the Ring App:

  1. Go to the menu.
  2. Tap Devices.
    • Tap on the device that you want to add a Shared User for.
  3. Tap Shared User (you might have to scroll to see it).
  4. Enter the email of the person you want to add as a Shared User.
  5. Tap Add User.
  6. Tap Send Invite.

How the Shared User Gets the Invite

The Shared User can accept the invitation via a link in their email. It can take up to 60 seconds for shared devices to show up in the app after the Shared User accepts the invitation. For Ring Alarm system Shared User invitations, it may take up to 15 minutes for the devices to appear in their Ring App. You can add as many Shared Users as you'd like. 

With a Ring Protect subscription or trial, the account owner and Shared Users can view recorded videos and video history. You can access your video history from the Ring App or on ring.com. Your Ring videos stored in the cloud are stored temporarily, up to 180 days. Changing your video storage time will only affect videos that are recorded after you adjust your storage time setting. Check Ring Protect Subscription Plans for more information. 

Learn more about video storage time

What Can an Account Owner Do?

The account owner has control over all of the settings on the Ring device. If you want to use multiple electronic devices (tablet, another phone, etc.) to control your Ring devices, download the Ring App onto the additional devices and use the same login and password you use to log into the Ring App.

What Shared Users Can and Can't Do

A Shared User is a person who has permission to watch live video feed, view video recordings, and receive notifications or alerts for a Ring device that you own. You can give a Shared User the ability to view one or more of the devices on your Ring account. You can grant or revoke Shared User access at any time.

What a Shared User Can Do

  • Answer and receive alerts when someone presses the doorbell or triggers motion sensors on cameras.
  • View stored videos if you are enrolled in a Ring Protect Plan.
  • Turn alerts on and off for their own account on a smartphone, tablet or PC.
  • Save and share videos directly to their smartphone, tablet, laptop or computer.
  • Use smart locks and/or arm or disarm Ring Alarm system.

What a Shared User Can’t Do

For security reasons, Shared Users can’t do any of the following:

  • Subscribe to a Ring Protect Plan for a device when another person is the account owner.
  • Delete stored videos or shared videos.
  • Remove devices from your account.
  • Change or adjust any device settings.
  • Add other Shared Users.

 

 

Join Our Community

Share feature requests, get help, and discuss the latest in security with your fellow users on Ring's first neighbor-to-neighbor community forum.

Was this article helpful?

×

 

 



Send Feedback