Managing Locations on Your Ring Alarm

Locations are a function of the Ring app that allows you to group your Ring devices by their physical location. If, for example, you had a Ring Alarm and a number of Ring cameras at both your home and your place of business, you could group these devices into "Home" and "Business" locations. That way when you want to check on the status of a business camera or make an adjustment to the Ring Alarm system in your home, you only have to deal with the devices at that Location. 

 

The remainder of this article will give you instructions on managing your Locations in the Ring app. 

Click here for frequently asked questions concerning Locations.

Creating Locations

 

When you set up your Ring Alarm, you'll be taken through the process of creating your first Location, or if you already have existing Locations, you'll be given the option to create a new Location or add the new device to an existing Location. 

Viewing Different Locations

 

To switch between Locations, do the following:

  • Tap the name of the current Location at the top of the dashboard.
  • Tap the Location you wish to view.
Editing Locations

 

To edit the name or street address of a Location, do the following:

  • Tap the three-lined button at the upper-left part of the screen to open the side menu.
  • Tap the Location Settings button.
  • Tap the Location button.
  • If you want to change the name, enter the new name in the Location Name field.
  • If you want to change the address, tap the address field and follow the in-app instructions to choose a new address.
    • Note: Updating your address may affect your professional monitoring plan and Alarm Permit requirements.
Deleting Locations

 

To delete a Location, do the following:

  • Tap the menu button at the upper-left part of the screen to open the side menu.
  • Tap Location Settings.
  • Tap the red "Remove Location."
  • Confirm removal of the Location.

Note: All devices need to be removed from the Location or reassigned to another Location before the user can delete the Location itself.

Note: You cannot delete a Location if it is subscribed to a Ring Protect Plus account. 

Managing Shared Users for a Location

 

You can also use your Location Setting controls to provide access to some of your Ring Devices to Shared Users.

Click here for more information on Users and Roles. 

To access your User controls in your Location settings, do the following: 

  • Tap the menu button at the upper-left part of the screen to open the side menu.
  • Select and tap the Location you wish to edit.
  • Tap the Location Settings button.
  • Tap "Users."

From the list of Users, you can do the following: 

  • Add and eliminate specific Shared Users from a Location.
  • Change a Shared Users' access level
  • Select what devices the Shared User has access to.
Changing the Location of your Ring Alarm

 

When a Ring Alarm is moved from one Location to another, it needs to be removed from the Location associated with the old property and added to the new one. Follow this procedure to move your Ring Alarm system:

  • Change your current monitoring status to self-monitoring:
    • Tap the menu button at the upper-left part of the screen to open the side menu.
    • Tap the Location Settings button.
    • Tap the Monitoring button under Location Settings.
    • Tap Monitoring type.
    • Choose the new type of monitoring you want: 
      • If you are in Practice Mode, you will need to Exit Practice Mode and confirm that you want to exit. You will then be put into Professional Monitoring.
      • If you are enrolled in Professional Monitoring and want to change to Self Monitoring, tap Self Monitoring and confirm that you want to end Professional Monitoring.
  • Remove all devices from your Base Station and unregister the Base Station.
  • When you reach the new Location, change your Location’s address:
    • Tap the three-lined button at the upper-left part of the screen to open the side menu.
    • Tap the Location Settings button.
    • Tap the Location button.
    • If you want to change the name, enter the new name in the Location Name field.
    • If you want to change the address, tap the address field and follow the in-app instructions to choose a new address.
  • Register your Base Station again and set up your devices with the Base Station.
  • Once you have moved, change your monitoring status back to professional monitoring:
    • Tap the menu button at the upper-left part of the screen to open the side menu.
    • Tap the Location Settings button.
    • Tap the Monitoring button under Location Settings.
    • Tap Monitoring type.
    • Choose the new type of monitoring you want: 
      • Tap Professional Monitoring and confirm that you want to enable professional monitoring.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 4 found this helpful

Send Feedback