Controlling the Ring Alarm With Users and Roles

Once you've completed setting up your Ring device in your app, you can decide who has access to your system. Certain people need total control over the system while others only need to be able to perform a few simple functions. The owner, for example, needs to be able to configure every aspect of their devices. A neighbor who checks the house cameras while the family is on vacation needs very limited access. Fortunately, there is a system in place to deal with this situation: Users and Roles.

A User is anyone who has any level of access to the system at a Location. Each User will be assigned a Role. Their Roles determine how much access he or she has to Ring devices and features. The User who sets up the system will automatically become the Owner. An Owner can invite users to the system to become Shared Users or Guest Users.

  • Owner: In addition to being able to view cameras and view and share videos,  the Owner can also add new Users, adjust system settings, change account information, and grant access to Shared Users. If you have a Ring Alarm, the Owner can also change monitoring settings and arm and disarm the Ring Alarm System.
  • Shared User: A Shared User cannot change system settings or account information but can view cameras and view and share videos,  (Access to particular cameras can be granted or taken away by the Owner.) If you have a Ring Alarm system, the Shared User can also arm and disarm the Ring Alarm system and unlock any lock they've been given access to by the Owner.
  • Guest User: If you have a Ring Alarm system and an integrated Z-Wave lock, the Guest User can also arm and disarm the Ring Alarm system and unlock any lock they’ve been given access to by the Owner using a PIN code.

See below for a full list of Owner and Shared User abilities..

Roles and Abilities

 

The list below details the full abilities of the Owner and Shared User.

  • Owner: Owner is the highest level of access. Their abilities include:
    • The ability to access the Users' list from Location Settings.
    • Ability to invite other people to become Shared Users.
    • Ability to remove Users.
    • Change Ring Alarm monitoring settings (type of monitoring, emergency contacts, verbal password, and permits)
    • Edit, view, and delete Locations.
    • Add and delete Devices from the Base Station.
    • Ability to control and configure devices.
    • View and control a Base Station Device.
    • Authority to change account/payment or address information.
    • Full access to live camera video.
    • View and share video clips.
    • Can receive and control notifications.
    • View History.
    • Ability to assign and change others' access codes.
    • Ability to limit others' access to cameras and doorbells.
    • Can arm and disarm the Ring Alarm system.

Note: While a Location cannot have more than one Owner, there is no limit on the number of Users that can be assigned to a Shared or Guest User Role. In addition, the same User can be assigned different Roles at different Locations. A User can, for example, be listed as Owner at 123 John Street and as a Shared or Guest User at 125 John Street.

  • Shared User: Shared User is the next level of system access. They are able to use some aspects of the system but cannot configure it nor alter account/payment information. Their abilities include:
    • Access to live camera video (which cameras the User has access to is determined by the Owner).
    • View and share video clips.
    • View and control a Base Station.
    • View History.
    • Can receive and control notifications.
    • Can lock and unlock connected locks
    • Can arm and disarm the Ring Alarm system.
  • Guest User: Guest User is the lowest level of system access. They are able to use some aspects of the system by using a PIN number provided by the Owner, but cannot configure it nor alter account/payment information. Their abilities include:
    • Can lock and unlock connected locks using a PIN number.
    • Can arm and disarm the Ring Alarm system using a PIN number.
Adding, Editing, and Deleting Users

 

Users are added to the system by invitation of an Owner. In order to extend an invitation to become a user, you will have to know their email address. Once the Owner has sent an invitation, the new User will receive an email telling him or her how to verify themselves and gain access to the system.

To add a User, do the following:

  • In the Ring app, open the menu.
  • Make sure you’re on the right Location, then tap Settings.
  • Tap the "+" symbol in the upper right corner of the screen.
  • Enter the email address of the person you wish to extend an invitation to (Note that each User must have a separate email address.)
  • Tap "Assign Role" and select the Role you wish that person to have
  • Tap "Send Invite."

To resend an invitation: 

  • In the Ring app, open the menu.
  • Make sure you’re on the right Location, then tap Settings.
  • Tap Users.
  • Tap the User that you would like to resend the invitation to.
  • At the top of the User’s profile, tap Resend Invite.

To Edit a User, do the following:

  • In the Ring app, open the menu.
  • Make sure you’re on the right Location, then tap Settings.
  • Tap Users.
  • Tap the User that you would like to edit.
  • Make the changes you would like to make.
  • Tap "Save."

To Delete a User, do the following:

  • In the Ring app, open the menu.
  • Make sure you’re on the right Location, then tap Settings.
  • Tap Users.
  • Tap the User that you would like to delete.
  • Scroll to the bottom of the screen and tap "Remove User."
  • Tap "Delete."
PIN Codes

 

Each User must assign themselves a unique PIN code. A User can use their access code to arm and disarm the Ring Alarm system using the Keypad. A PIN code is four digits long and cannot be duplicated or shared with any other users. It can also be changed any time through the Ring app.

Note: Although all Users can have PIN codes, an Owner is the only user who can edit or change a PIN code.

To change a PIN code:

  • In the Ring app, open the menu.
  • Make sure you’re on the right Location, then tap Settings.
  • Tap Users.
  • Tap the User that you would like to change.
  • In the Protect Access section, tap Personal Access Code.
  • Enter a four-digit code, then re-enter the code.
  • Tap Save.
Camera Access

 

If Ring cameras, doorbells, and Ring Alarm are present at a Location, all Users can access all the cameras and doorbells there by default. This is, however, at the Owner’s discretion. An Owner can limit any Shared or Guest User’s access to cameras and doorbells at their Location.

If you are an Owner and would like to change the amount of camera access a User has at your Location, do the following:

  • In the Ring app, open the menu.
  • Make sure you’re in the right Location, then tap Location Settings.
  • Tap Users.
  • Tap the User that you would like to change.
  • In the Camera Access section, tap the camera checkbox to determine whether it’s enabled for that User.
  • Once you’re finished choosing the cameras, tap Save.
Was this article helpful?
121 out of 297 found this helpful

Send Feedback