The Neighborhoods feature allows you to share cloud recorded videos with, and view cloud recorded videos from, neighbors with Ring products.
You will have the ability to view, share, or report videos in the My Neighborhood(s) section of the Ring app.
Turning on Neighborhoods
- When first tapping the Neighborhoods icon in the top right corner of the app, you will receive a prompt to enable the feature by selecting “Get Started”.
- After tapping “Continue,” your Ring Neighborhood will pre-populate based on the location of your Ring product. You can rename your neighborhood if you’d like.
- If you have multiple Ring products in different locations, you’ll automatically be placed in a Ring Neighborhood for each location.
My Neighborhoods - Initial Screen & Radius
When you first open My Neighborhoods, you will see your neighborhoods.
You can access settings for a neighborhood by tapping on your neighborhood’s circle icon at the top of the screen. Here, you can change the name of your neighborhood, adjust your alert radius, or turn off/on the neighborhood alerts).
When new activity is uploaded from any of the neighborhoods within the set radius, you will receive a notification from the Ring app. An orange dot will also appear over the Neighborhoods icon.
Tapping on the Neighborhoods icon will open the My Neighborhoods feed, where you’ll see videos shared by your neighbors. Neighbors will only see videos that were explicitly shared to Ring Neighborhoods. This does not showcase your entire list of recent activity.
Sharing an Event from a Live Event
- During a live event you will see the Neighborhoods icon at the bottom right of the screen.
- If you tap the Neighborhoods icon, you can share the video directly after the call once a description/name has been given to the video.
- Once a title has been given (description is optional), you will receive a prompt letting you know the event will be uploaded shortly after review.
Sharing, Deleting & Flagging
For my events (events belonging to you), you have the option to share and delete upon swiping left. You will see a share button plus a red trash can icon When an event is deleted from Neighborhoods it will still reside in your recent activity.
For your neighbors’ events you have the option to share and report (flag) upon swiping left. You will see a share button plus a red flag icon. Report events that contain anything inappropriate, and they will be immediately removed from the neighborhood feed and reviewed.
We hope you enjoy using Ring Neighborhoods!
Feel free to leave any feedback in the comments below.