What is a Ring Protect trial?
A Ring Protect trial is a 30-day period that begins when you set up a Ring Video Doorbell, Security Camera or Alarm in the Ring app, unless you’re already a subscriber at the same location of the new device. During the trial period, you’ll have access to Ring Protect subscription benefits, such as the ability to review, save and share recorded videos to other devices.
When the 30-day trial ends, videos will be deleted unless you are already subscribed to a Ring Protect plan. To avoid losing access to your recorded videos and subscription features, make sure you subscribe to Ring Protect before your trial period ends. During the trial period, you may subscribe to a Ring Protect plan and you won’t be charged for your subscription until the end of the trial.
Learn more about the Ring Protect plans and subscription features.
My videos were deleted when my Ring Protect trial ended. Can I get those videos back?
No. If the 30-day trial is allowed to expire, all recorded videos are immediately deleted.
Do I get a trial for every new device I purchase?
Yes. Whenever you activate a new Ring Video Doorbell, Security Camera or Alarm in the Ring app, you’ll automatically begin a 30-day Ring Protect trial. If you’re a current Ring Protect subscriber activating a device at an existing subscribed location, you aren’t eligible for a Ring Protect trial (does not apply to customers with a current Ring Protect plan).
If I purchase a new Ring Video Doorbell or Security Camera during my Ring Protect trial, do I get an additional trial?
Yes. If you purchase a new Ring Video Doorbell or Security Camera, a new trial begins the day you set up the new Ring product in the Ring app, unless you’re an existing subscriber at the same location of the new device.
- On January 1 2024, if you set up a new Ring Video Doorbell 4, you would begin a 30-day Ring Protect trial that ends on January 31, 2024.
- On January 15 2024, if you set up a new Floodlight Cam at the same location, your new 30-day Ring Protect trial end date would be February 15, 2024.
Note: If your trial expires and you don’t subscribe to a Ring Protect plan, your videos will be deleted and cannot be recovered. Check Ring Protect subscription plans for more information about your plan's retention period.
What happens if I purchase a Ring Protect plan during my 30-day trial and then cancel it during that same 30-day trial?
If you cancel a Ring Protect plan you have purchased during a trial, you will continue to enjoy the benefits of the Ring Protect trial (including video storage and retention) until your 30-day trial is over.
If I purchase a Ring Protect Plan during my 30-day trial, do I lose the remaining days on my trial?
No. If you purchase a Ring Protect Plan during your 30-day trial, you won’t lose any of your trial days. Your first day of billing will begin after the 30-day trial is over.
Can I have more time added to a trial?
No. Every customer receives a trial period to try out the benefits of Ring Protect. We encourage all customers to sign up for a Ring Protect plan to avoid losing any videos taken during that time.
What are the benefits I can use during my 30-day trial?
You’ll have access to all of the subscription benefits for your specific Ring device. See a list of subscription features.
Does a Shared User on my account get to experience the same benefits as I do?
Yes. Any Shared User on your Ring account has access to all the benefits of your Ring Protect trial. Please note, Shared Users can’t subscribe to Ring Protect when your 30-day trial is over, or make changes to your account.