Creating and deleting Privacy Zones

Privacy Zones are areas you designate to black out from your camera’s field of view so that they are not visible in Live View or recorded in your videos. Privacy Zones can help you control what you want to see and what you don’t. This article will show you how to set up a Privacy Zone.

Click here to learn more about Privacy Zones.

Setting up a Privacy Zone

  • Open the Ring app
  • Tap the menu icon (three horizontal lines) in the top left corner
  • Tap Devices
  • Tap the device you'd like to set Privacy Zones for
  • Tap Device Settings
  • Tap Privacy Settings
  • Tap Add Privacy Zones
  • Tap “+” to create a new Privacy Zone. Drag the zone with your finger and use the round handles on the corners of the Privacy Zone to change its size. Once you have covered the area you wish to protect with a black rectangle, stop drawing.
  • Optional: Give your Privacy Zone a specific name
  • Tap Done, then X

Deleting a Privacy Zone

  • Open the Ring app
  • Tap the menu icon (three horizontal lines) in the top left corner
  • Tap Devices
  • Tap the device you want to delete a Privacy Zone for
  • Tap Device Settings
  • Tap Privacy Settings
  • Tap the Privacy Zone you want to delete
  • Tap the bin icon
  • Tap Delete Privacy Zone

Join Our Community

Share feature requests, get help, and discuss the latest in security with your fellow users on Ring's first community forum.

Was this article helpful?

×

 

 



Send Feedback
disabled_new Hi there, chat is available Monday - Sunday 7AM - 7PM BST.