Creating and deleting Privacy Zones

Privacy zones are areas you designate to black out from your camera’s field of view so that they are not viewable in Live View or recorded in your videos. Privacy Zones can help you control what you want to see and what you don’t. This article will show you how to set up a privacy zone.

Click here to learn more about privacy zones.

Setting up a privacy zone

  • Open your Ring app.
  • Tap the device you'd like to set.
  • Tap Video Settings.
  • Tap Privacy Settings.
  • Tap Edit Privacy Zones.
  • Tap “+” to create a new zone. Drag the zone with your finger and use the round handles on the corners of the Zone to change its size. Once you have covered the area you wish to protect with a black rectangle, stop drawing.
  • Optional: Give your privacy zone a specific name.
  • Tap Save.

Once the privacy zone is saved, press the front button to apply your changes.

Deleting a privacy zone

  • Open your Ring app.
  • Tap the three-lined menu on the upper left-hand side of the screen to open the side menu.
  • Tap Devices.
  • Select desired device.
  • Tap Device Settings.
  • Tap Privacy Settings.
  • Select the zone you wish to delete.
  • Tap Edit Privacy Zones.
  • Tap the trash can icon.
  • Confirm you wish to delete the zone.

Join Our Community

Share feature requests, get help, and discuss the latest in security with your fellow users on Ring's first community forum.

Was this article helpful?

×

 

 



Send Feedback
disabled_new Hi there, chat is available Monday - Sunday 7AM - 7PM BST.