Controlling Ring devices with Shared Users and Guest Users

Ring device owners have control over every aspect of their Video Doorbells, Security Cameras and Alarms. Shared Users have limited access to the Ring devices and can't control settings. All account owners can invite an unlimited number of Shared Users to share their Ring devices. A Ring Alarm system owner can also invite an unlimited number of Guest Users to share their system. 

  • Owner: In addition to being able to view cameras and view and share videos, the device owner can add new Shared Users, adjust system settings and change account information.
    • If you have a Ring Alarm system, the owner can invite both Shared Users and Guest Users.
    • Ring Video Doorbells, Security Cameras and Ring Alarm allow an unlimited number of Shared Users.
  • Shared User: A Shared User cannot change system settings or account information but can view cameras and view and share videos. Access to particular cameras can be granted or taken away by the owner.
    • If you have a Ring Alarm system, Shared Users can also arm and disarm the Ring Alarm system and unlock any lock they've been given access to by the owner. 
  • Guest User: If you have a Ring Alarm system and an integrated Z-Wave lock, Guest Users can also arm and disarm the Ring Alarm system and unlock any lock they’ve been given access to by the owner using a PIN number.

The lists below outline the scope of owner, Shared User and Guest User abilities.

Roles and abilities

Owner

Owner is the highest level of device access. For Ring Video Doorbells, Security Cameras and Ring Alarm an owner's abilities include:

  • Access a list of Shared Users
  • Invite an unlimited number of Shared Users
  • Remove Shared Users
  • Edit, view and delete Locations (addresses)
  • Control and configure devices
  • Change account/payment or address information
  • Access Live View
  • View and share video clips
  • Receive and control notifications
  • View Event History

For Ring Alarm system owners only:

  • Change Ring Alarm monitoring settings (type of monitoring, emergency contacts, verbal password, and permits)
  • Add and delete devices from the Base Station
  • View and control a Base Station Device
  • Assign and change others' access codes
  • Arm and disarm the Ring Alarm system

Shared User

For Ring Video Doorbells, Security Cameras and Ring Alarm system, Shared Users can:

    • Access Live View
    • View and share video clips
    • View Event History
    • Can receive and control notifications

For Ring Alarm, Shared Users can:

    • View and control a Base Station
    • Lock and unlock connected locks
    • Arm and disarm the Ring Alarm system

Guest User

Guest User is only available for Ring Alarm and is the lowest level of system access. Guest Users are able to use some aspects of the Alarm system by using a PIN number provided by the owner, but cannot configure the Ring Alarm or alter account/payment information.

Guest Users can:

  • Lock and unlock connected locks using a PIN number
  • Arm and disarm the Ring Alarm system using a PIN number

Adding, editing and deleting Shared Users

Shared Users are added to the system by invitation of an owner. In order to extend an invitation to become a Shared User, an owner needs the Shared User's email address.

Once the owner has sent an invitation, the new Shared User will receive an email prompting them to verify their email address and gain access to the system.

To add a Shared User, do the following:

  • In the Ring app, tap on the three lines on the top of the Dashboard screen
  • Select Devices
  • Tap the desired device
  • Tap Shared Users
  • Enter the email address of the person you wish to extend an invitation to (each Shared User must have a separate email address)
  • Assign the shared devices
  • Tap Send Invite

Note: Devices must be assigned to Shared Users individually. If you have one Video Doorbell and two Security Cameras, the Shared User needs to be invited to share each device. Shared User invites are valid for 7 days.

Note: If you have more than one Location with Ring devices, make sure you’re inviting the Shared Users from the correct Location:

  • Tap on the address at the top of the menu
  • Tap the Location where the device is located

 To resend an invitation: 

  • In the Ring app, tap on the three lines on the Dashboard screen
  • Select Devices
  • Tap the desired device
  • Tap Shared Users
    • Enter the email address of the person you wish to send an invitation to
    • Each Shared User must have a separate email address
  • Assign shared devices
  • Tap Send Invite

To edit a Shared User:

  • In the Ring app, tap on the three lines on the Dashboard screen
  • Select Devices 
  • Tap on the device you want
  • Tap Shared Users
  • Tap the Shared User that you would like to edit
  • Make the changes you would like to make
  • Tap Save

To delete a Shared User:

  • In the Ring app, tap on the three lines on the Dashboard screen
  • If you have more than one Location with Ring devices, make sure you’re on the correct Location
    • Tap on the address at the top of the menu
    • Tap the Location where the device is located
  • Tap Shared Users
  • Tap the Shared User you would like to delete
  • Tap Delete 
  • Tap Save

Ring Alarm PIN codes

Each user must assign themselves a unique, 4-digit PIN code which cannot be duplicated with other users. A user can use their PIN code to arm and disarm the Ring Alarm system using the Keypad. PIN codes can be changed at any time through the Ring app.

Note: Although all users can have PIN codes, an owner is the only user who can edit or change a PIN code.

To change a PIN code:

  • In the Ring app, tap the three lines on Dashboard screen
  • Tap Users
  • Tap the user that you would like to change
  • In the Protect Access section, tap Personal Access Code
  • Enter a four-digit code, then re-enter the code
  • Tap Save

Camera access with Ring Alarm

If Ring Video Doorbells, Security Cameras and Ring Alarm are present at a Location, all Shared Users can access all the cameras and doorbells there by default. This is, however, at the owner’s discretion. An owner can limit any Shared User or Guest User’s access to cameras and doorbells at their Location.

 

Join Our Community

Share feature requests, get help, and discuss the latest in security with your fellow users on Ring's first community forum.

Was this article helpful?

×

 

 



Send Feedback
disabled_new Hi there, chat is available Monday - Sunday 7AM - 7PM BST.